Stephen Bates to be President of the jury for the EU Mies van der Rohe Award 2017

Stephen Bates will preside over the works of the jury for the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award 2017. Jury members include Gonçalo Byrne (Gonçalo Byner Arquitectos), Peter Cachola Schmal (Director of the Deutsches Architekturmuseum, Frankfurt am Main), Pelin Dervis (independent researcher, editor and curator), Dominique Jacob (Jacob+MacFarlane), Julia Kauste (Director of the Suomen arkkitehtuurimuseo, Helsinki) and Małgorzata Omilanowska (Professor at the University of Gdansk and former Minister of Culture of Poland).

Funded by the European Commission and the Barcelona City Council and managed by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, the biennial award aims to raise awareness of excellence in the field of architecture, drawing attention to the contributions of European professionals in the development of new architectural concepts, techniques, and technologies.

Candidates for the Award are put forward by a broad group of independent experts from all over Europe and by the architects’ associations that form part of the European Council of Architects and other European national architects’ associations. 

The jury will convene in Barcelona in January 2017 to shortlist 5 projects, which they will  visit at the end of April. The winners will be announced at a ceremony to be held at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on 26 May 2017.